Monday, 22 July 2013


There are five species of Egret that call Australia Home.

Cattle Egret 48-53cm, arrived in the North of Australia about 1950. Eastern Great Egret 0.85-1.05cm.
Eastern Reef Egret 60-65cm,with a Dark & Light Morph phase.
Intermediate Egret 55-65cm.
Little Egret 55-65cm.

Click on photos to enlarge. 

 Cattle Egret (Ardea ibis

Eastern Great Egret (Ardea alba)

Eastern Reef Egret (Egretta sacra) (Dark Morph)
Have seen the Light Morph phase,unfortunately no photos.

Intermediate Egret (Ardea intermedia)

Little Egret (Egretta garzetta)
 For more birds visit Wild Bird Wednesday.


mick said...

Congrats on getting great photos of all five!

Snail said...

You've got the set!

Gary said...

Great series!! Boom & Gary of the Vermilon River, Canada.

eileeninmd said...

They are all beautiful Egrets. Great shots!

Karen said...

Wow, what a great series. Five of them!

Carole M. said...

interesting to see the Eastern Reef Egret especially

Pete Shanley said...

Now I didn't know that Cattle egrets were such a late arrival! Great shots, Thanks for sharing!

Gunilla B├Ąck said...

Gorgeous birds!

Sharon Wagner said...

Nice egret mix up. It makes me wonder how many more kinds there are.

TexWisGirl said...

wonderful bunch!

TexWisGirl said...

hope my comment went thru. not sure.

like this set. really like the reef one!

Rajesh said...

Great shots of the egret.